• Subscribe Today!

    Sign up for the blog
  • Adopt a Puppy
  • iSearchiGive.com
  • Archives

You Can’t Keep A Good Dog Down

Lacey didn’t let it get her down when her adopted family had to bring her back to Heaven Can Wait when they couldn’t afford to care for her.

Written by Khristie Garcia

 
It’s a doggy dog world in these tough times… people lose jobs, homes, and sometimes are forced to relocate leaving their loved ones behind. What are you going to do in this economy? Run the streets, give in to depression, and end up in prison? Not this Girl. 

My name is Lacey and I am a two year old Border collie. Once I was a lonely pup roaming the streets when Heaven Can Wait rescued me. They took me in and put me in school, Pups on Parole.  I was an excellent student and learned all kinds of tricks that a person would want their best buddy to know. At last the day came, Graduation. I got adopted! Just as I became accustomed to a good life the economy went to poo and my person had to relocate WITHOUT ME! I didn’t know what to do. I was homeless, person-less, and back behind bars. I am no dummy dog I am a Border collie, who completed Pups on Parole, which means something you know! And yet there I was with all the other new pups barely starting their program.  I didn’t know what to do; I had hit an all time low. Just when I thought I couldn’t take another day behind bars David and Janie came into my life.

David and Janie are my new mom and dad. They picked me up, took me home and Bam I am back living the good life. I even have three siblings! They are kinda funny looking though; 1 bird and 2 cats (obviously we are not biologically related) but I don’t hold it against them. I have everything I can ask for; morning walks or mom calls them W.A.L.K’s, a nice big bed (that I am always the first one in), and flavored cookies… oh I love cookies!

My new home is amazing and mom and dad are always picking up new toys for me. Once again I have the joy of doing as I please! I can eat my toys, take out the stuffing and make MORE toys, or just take an afternoon nap. I don’t know where I would be if it weren’t for David and Janie. Because of their love I can say Heaven Can Wait. 

Heaven Can Wait saved my Tail Twice and I am grateful for that. If you would like to help out one of my friends that are waiting for adoption get on your computer and check out www.hcws.org. 

Heaven Can Wait Animal Society has placed more than 7,000 homeless cats and dogs into adopted homes.  Your help is needed to keep our Pups on Parole and adoption programs strong.  Click here to see how you can help.  Thank you for your support.

Leave a Reply

