• Subscribe Today!

    Sign up for the blog
  • Adopt a Puppy
  • iSearchiGive.com
  • Archives

In Loving Memory of Baby

By Micki Wilson, HCWS Volunteer

It was the summer of 1998 when I first saw the black and white long-haired cat behind the “blues club” I went to regularly. I was sitting alone on the back stairway getting some fresh air. She came and sat, watching me from a distance. The next night I brought her some food…and named her Baby.

Baby

Feeding Baby the first time made me realize it was not a one-time thing, for each and every day for the rest of her life she would feel hunger again. When would this end? I didn’t know, but I knew I did not want to be yet one more human that let her down.

I fed and cared for Baby every night for the next twelve years. She would walk right up to me while I dished out her food and she came to trust me somewhat, but I was never allowed to touch her. If I tried, I pulled back a bloody hand. We did things on her terms, as I had promised her unconditional love.

During those years I learned about love, trust, commitment and disappointment. Baby gave me more than I was ever able to give her. Thank you, Baby!

During those years I also witnessed the atrocities a feral cat must endure just to survive one more day of life; the disappointments felt by these cats when once again a human lets them down; the day-to-day struggle just to find a safe location, away from cruel humans and the elements; the wariness learned from knowing that at any second a danger may present itself – and that letting your guard down for even a second could get you maimed or killed. And, of course…the daily struggle to find food and water.

Sadly, this journey ended in June 2010, with the passing of Baby. I hope Baby inspires in others the love she inspired in me. Don’t let her life and death be in vain. Help us to help more ferals like her.

Thank you, Baby, for all you gave to me and all you taught me. I will never forget you!

– – –

Heaven Can Wait Spay and Neuter Clinic treats feral cats like Baby every day.

 

Thoughts Of A Feral
by Annette Easdon

Dedicated to all the kind and caring people
who give the lonely ferals
a little care, a little love, and a little hope.
~~~~~

I sit beneath the bushes as she fills my dish each day,
I only venture out to eat when she has gone away,
I know it will upset her when I turn away and hide,
As every day she tries her best to get me by her side.

I wish that I could let her know that I don’t want to run,
And hope that she will understand it’s nothing that she’s done.
I’d like to have her stroke me and pat my weary head,
But fear will overcome and I’ll run and hide instead.

For all the kindly people who feed the strays each day,
I pray the Lord will care for them as they have cared for me.

 

5 Responses

  1. Thanks Micki and Baby.

  2. I like this story. and I often think when our pets die, whether feral or domesticated, whatever length of time they had, at least some love was offered in their lifespan and Baby got 12 yrs. I’m sure it would have been only 3 or 4 without a regular source of food and water.

    I’m a feral cat caretaker. this story above inspires my own. I had 18 total cats fixed by Heaven Can Wait. Jobless and retired, I owe my peace of mind to HCW and to a couple of women; Bobbi and Milli, other cat lovers.
    I remember the first time I looked into Big Orange’s eyes. I saw an incredible depth of suffering in them. I had trapped him and brought him into my “cat” bedroom in preparation for neuter day.
    He would hide behind a piece of furniture and hiss, and he sprayed a great deal of urine around which has since been taken care of.
    He waited perhaps a week in that room and each time I looked into his eyes struck terror in my soul, there was so much pain there.
    Finally his big day arrived and off we went. He was very good on the ride. I released him when we got home and didn’t see him around for a few weeks. Then there he was. He came back. He began to demonstrate alpha male characteristics by wanting a separate dish to feed from. He’s getting spoiled rotten! He actually allowed me to pet him just today. His son has 6 toes and frequently boxes him around which he allows most the time, but the son did get bitten once. He is surely not the most well mannered of my group, but he is getting so handsome and large and regal looking from my care. I am hoping he will get some manners…but you know he is an animal and he is what he is. thank you for telling me about Baby.

  3. Thank you for this story, it was very touching. It’s nice to know that there are people out there who care for and love an animal without expecting so much in return. You are a very selfless person, and it’s inspiring.

  4. I got the oppirtunity to ride with mrs Micki while she all her “babies” and it is amazing how huge of a heart one woman can have. She truly cares for each and every one of these cats. Mrs Micki Is also someone i call mom. Knowing her and seeing what she give these animals makes me believe there are truly still pure people on this earth. I went with her to feed Baby and got to see her. I know ot broke her heart when Baby passed and i wish I could have been there for her. There need to be many more people in this world with a heart as huge as hers. I love u Ma. Keep up the great work. YOUR AMAZING.

  5. Sorry i meant fed all her “babies”

Leave a Reply

